Rob Goldman Legal Solutions
Wills and estate planning for seniors and families

Peace of mind is just a phone call away

What are the different types of nursing homes?

What are the different types of nursing homes?

A nursing home provides room and board, personal care, protection supervision and medical care, licensed and regulated by State Departments of Public Health. Individually certified by the State for Medicare and Medicaid. Facilities accept a variety of Medicare, Medicaid, private insurance carriers, and private funds.

There are three levels of care provided by nursing homes:

Basic Care – Defined as the level of services required to maintain a resident’s activity of daily living. Includes personal care, ambulation, supervision and safety. This care can be provided by a nurse aide, practical nurse or a family member.

Skilled Care – Defined as the level of care which requires the services of a registered nurse, on a regular basis, for treatments and procedures. Skilled care also includes services provided by specially trained professionals, such as physical and respiratory therapists.

Sub-Acute – Comprehensive inpatient care designed for someone who has had an acute illness, injury, or exacerbation of a disease process. Subacute care is generally more intensive than traditional nursing facility care and less than acute care, requiring frequent (daily to weekly) recurrent patient assessment and review.

Many communities/facilities offer different levels of alternatives, commonly referred to as Continuing Care Centers or Life Care Communitees.

Contact us now to inquire about our elder law services.

Contact Baltimore, Maryland Elderly Family Attorney